The Millers open the AA state soccer tournament against top-seeded Minnetonka on October 27. Match starts at 5:30pm at Benilde St. Margaret’s stadium.

State Tournament Quarterfinal

October 27, 2015 • 5:30pm • Benilde St. Margaret's

1 2 OT Final
Minnetonka Skippers 1 2 0 3
Washburn Millers 2 1 1 4
Washburn Goals: L. Peterson (2); M. Taylor; S. Abrams

From the Match Preview

The Millers (11-4-3) are in the state soccer tournament for the first time since 1989, when a team led by John Sylvester made it to the quarterfinals. It is the Millers’ seventh appearance in the tournament, dating back to six appearances throughout the 1980s, but never winning a championship. On the way to state this year, the Millers defeated St. Louis Park, 3-0, #1 section seed Wayzata, 2-1, and #2 section seed Minneapolis Southwest, 2-1. The Millers have outscored opponents this year 68-19 and have not lost a match by more than one goal in the last two years.

Minnetonka is 16-3-0 entering the tournament, having defeated Shakopee, Eden Prairie, and Bloomington Jefferson in sectional playoffs. It is Minnetonka’s fourth appearance in the state tournament, where they made the final once, in 1999, losing 1-0 to Edina. In last year’s tournament Minnetonka lost 2-1 in the quarterfinal to unseeded Anoka, the team that later went on to win the championship.

The Miller captains have declared an #OrangeOut for the match, so wear orange, bring orange, eat an orange. Whatever it takes!

Washburn soccer defender Andy Pulkrabek
0Ben BrauerGK11
1Cooper WellsA10
2Oscar ShulmanA10
3Nick SteinkampM11
4David SalyM10
5Juan LouisA11
6Kevin LowenA12
7Sam Abrams (C)D12
8Luke PetersonA11
9Henry StevensA12
10Mitch TaylorA12
11Hassan AdanM12
12Andy PulkrabekA12
13J.P. FerreiraA12
14Mohamed KalmoyA12
15Max LindemannD11
16Matthew StoutA11
17Ty BenjaafarA9
19Garrett Lieb (C)D12
20Alex BattA12
21Sam FritschD9
23Max ElofsonGK12

Head Coach: Aaron Percy
Assistant Coaches: Sean Keir; Steve Alexander
Principal: Rhonda Dean
Athletic Director: Reggie Perkins

0Carl ArpsG11
1Tom BennettG10
2Nick WilsonD10
3Adrian PerkinsM10
4Jake OrlowskyD12
5Nagu ChidambaramD12
6Teo SpeeceD12
7Carter CameronD12
8Vail BaumerM12
9Jacob RobinsonA11
10Suad SuljicA12
11Hudson MeesterD11
12Avery WeaverA11
13Archie MacKinnonM12
14Finn HistonM11
15Alejandro FerrerA9
16Joshua KizilosM10
17Stian FirehammerM12
18Josh GreinerM11
19Sergio RivasM9
20Henry MontminyM12
21Owen LalandD11
23Shane EnnengaD12

Head Coach: Mike Rogers
Assistant Coach: Alex Johnson
Principal: Jeff Erickson
Athletic Director: Ted Schultz

8/27/15RichfieldW 3-0
8/29/15Robbinsdale CooperW 4-2
9/1/15St. Thomas AcademyL 0-1 (OT)
9/3/15Minneapolis SouthwestL 0-1
9/5/15at Rochester LourdesT 1-1 (OT)
9/8/15at DeLaSalleW 1-0
9/10/15Roosevelt W 13-0
9/12/15at Blake T 1-1
9/22/15Benilde-St. MargaretW 3-2
9/24/15at Minneapolis SouthwestT 3-3 (OT)
9/26/15Academy of Holy AngelsL 0-1
9/29/15HopkinsW 4-1
10/1/15Minneapolis SouthL 2-3
10/5/15Minneapolis EdisonW 13-0
10/8/15Minneapolis HenryW 13-0
10/15/15Section 6AA Quarterfinals v. St. Louis ParkW 3-0
10/17/15Section 6AA Semifinals v. WayzataW 2-1
10/20/15Section 6AA Finals v. SouthwestW 2-1
10/27/15AA Quarterfinals v. MinnetonkaW 4-3 (OT)
11/2/15AA Semifinals v. AnokaL 1-2
11/5/15AA State 3rd Place v. St. Cloud TechT 0-0
Overall Record12-5-4
Washburn Soccer

About Washburn Soccer

The Washburn Soccer Boosters is a volunteer non-profit 501(c)(3) organization with the mission of supporting the tradition of a high quality boys soccer program at Minneapolis Washburn High School. Join the boosters today.