The Millers head to St. Cloud for the first semifinal match of the AA state soccer tournament, taking on the fourth-seeded Anoka Tornadoes. Student fan buses leave November 2 at 1:00. Match starts at 3:00pm at St. Cloud State’s Husky Stadium.

State Tournament Semifinal

November 2, 2015 • 3:00pm • St. Cloud State Husky Stadium

1 2 Final
Anoka Tornadoes 1 1 2
Washburn Millers 0 1 1
Washburn Goals: J. Louis (Wells)

From the Match Preview

The Millers, now 12-4-3, are on a tear at the end of the season, having outscored opponents 37-5 since October 1. On the way to state, the Millers defeated St. Louis Park, 3-0, #1 section seed Wayzata, 2-1, and #2 section seed Minneapolis Southwest, 2-1. In their overtime win over number one seed Minnetonka last week, the Millers stifled Mr. Soccer Suad Suljic and slowed down a potently quick Minnetonka counterattack, dominating the Skippers in the first half but letting in two quick goals in the second half that ultimately made the match close. The Millers have one of the stingiest defenses in Minnesota high school soccer and a powerful scoring trio of  Juan Louis, Henry Stevens, and Mitch Taylor.

Anoka is 15-3-2 entering the semifinals, having defeated St. Francis, Blaine, and Duluth East in sectional playoffs. The Tornadoes edged out Eagan 2-1 in the state tournament quarterfinal. Anoka is the defending AA champions and return twelve players from last year’s state tournament squad.

Miller captains have declared a #WhiteOut for the match, so wear white, bring the Burn, be there in force. It’s Our Time!

0Ben BrauerGK11
1Cooper WellsA10
2Oscar ShulmanA10
3Nick SteinkampM11
4David SalyM10
5Juan LouisA11
6Kevin LowenA12
7Sam Abrams (C)D12
8Luke PetersonA11
9Henry StevensA12
10Mitch TaylorA12
11Hassan AdanM12
12Andy PulkrabekA12
13J.P. FerreiraA12
14Mohamed KalmoyA12
15Max LindemannD11
16Matthew StoutA11
17Ty BenjaafarA9
19Garrett Lieb (C)D12
20Alex BattA12
21Sam FritschD9
23Max ElofsonGK12

Head Coach: Aaron Percy
Assistant Coaches: Sean Keir; Steve Alexander
Principal: Rhonda Dean
Athletic Director: Reggie Perkins

1Jake PetersonG11
2Chase AndersonD11
3Luke OlsonM12
4Michael TalbotD12
5Erik ElvigM11
6Sean NeeserD10
7Miguel Martinez-UrrutiaD11
8Connor SchaafF12
9Blake NeumannD12
10Zach RichardsF12
12Alec BelknapG12
13Donny GuimontM11
14Quinlin PuttM9
15Blake DoyeaF11
16Jake McNeffM11
17Jeff NeistM11
18Brandon BergM11
19Blake PerryF10
20Reese GrailerM12
21Joey ScheldroupM10
22Tyler TrovikM12
23Ben VerkuilenD12

Head Coach: Pete Hayes
Assistant Coach: Clint Seul; Todd Springer; Wayne Becklin
Principal: Mike Farley
Athletic Director: Gwendolyn Poore

8/27/15RichfieldW 3-0
8/29/15Robbinsdale CooperW 4-2
9/1/15St. Thomas AcademyL 0-1 (OT)
9/3/15Minneapolis SouthwestL 0-1
9/5/15at Rochester LourdesT 1-1 (OT)
9/8/15at DeLaSalleW 1-0
9/10/15Roosevelt W 13-0
9/12/15at Blake T 1-1
9/22/15Benilde-St. MargaretW 3-2
9/24/15at Minneapolis SouthwestT 3-3 (OT)
9/26/15Academy of Holy AngelsL 0-1
9/29/15HopkinsW 4-1
10/1/15Minneapolis SouthL 2-3
10/5/15Minneapolis EdisonW 13-0
10/8/15Minneapolis HenryW 13-0
10/15/15Section 6AA Quarterfinals v. St. Louis ParkW 3-0
10/17/15Section 6AA Semifinals v. WayzataW 2-1
10/20/15Section 6AA Finals v. SouthwestW 2-1
10/27/15AA Quarterfinals v. MinnetonkaW 4-3 (OT)
11/2/15AA Semifinals v. AnokaL 1-2
11/5/15AA State 3rd Place v. St. Cloud TechT 0-0
Overall Record12-5-4
Washburn Soccer

About Washburn Soccer

The Washburn Soccer Boosters is a volunteer non-profit 501(c)(3) organization with the mission of supporting the tradition of a high quality boys soccer program at Minneapolis Washburn High School. Join the boosters today.